

AORN Announces 2016 Election Results

New members of the AORN Board of Directors and NLDC were announced at the annual business meeting at the AORN Surgical Conference & Expo in Anaheim, Cal., April 2-6, 2016.

The Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) has announced the 2016 election results for the Board of Directors and the Nominating and Leadership Development Committee (NLDC). The new officers, directors, and committee members were announced at Congress, the association's annual business meeting, on Wednesday, April 6. Each has been elected to a two-year term, with the exception of president and president-elect, which are one-year terms.

Martha Stratton, MSN, MHSA, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC, has assumed the role of president for the new term from the role of president-elect. Stratton is vice president, perioperative services, at Doctors Hospital of Augusta in Augusta, Georgia.

The newly elected officers are:

Nathalie F. Walker, MBA, RN, CNOR, as president-elect. Walker is a member of the Louisiana Nursing Supply and Demand Commission, a sub-committee of the Health Works Commission of Louisiana. She has been a perioperative nurse for 24 years and a member of AORN for 24 years where she has held various leadership roles including board secretary and legislative coordinator for the state of Louisiana. Walker will assume the role of president in 2017.

Missi F. Merlino, MHA, RN-BC, CNOR, as vice-president. Merlino is a staff nurse II at Baylor Scott & White Health, Surgery Center at the Pavilion, Temple, Texas. She has been a perioperative nurse for 26 years and a member of AORN for 26 years where she has held various leadership roles including past chair and member of the Nominating and Leadership Development Committee.

Holly S. Ervine, MSN, RN, CNOR, as secretary. Ervine is a perioperative clinical educator at WellStar Cobb Hospital, Austell, Georgia. She has been a perioperative nurse for 15 years and a member of AORN for 15 years where she held various leadership roles including as a member of the AORN Board of Directors since 2014.

The newly elected members of the board are:

Elizabeth S. Pincus, MSN, MBA, RN, ACNS-BC, CNS-CP, CNOR. Pincus is a clinical nurse specialist at New York-Presbyterian Lower Manhattan Hospital, New York, and a per diem nurse at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York.

Carrie Simpson, BSN, BA, RN, CNOR. Simpson is the clinical educator for the Operating Room at University Medical Center New Orleans, Louisiana.

Dawn Myers Yost, MSN, RN, CNOR, CSSM. Yost is the business manager at West Virginia University Medicine, Morgantown, West Virginia.

Newly elected to the Nominating and Leadership Development Committee are:

Brandy Miller, MHA, MSN, RN, CNOR. Miller is the center director for The Surgery Center, Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Cheryl Langford, MSN, RN, CNOR. Langford is a clinical informatics specialist and endoscopy nurse manager at Fairview Ridges Hospital, Burnsville, Minnesota.

Ruben Barrios, MSN Ed, RN, CNOR. Barrios is a perioperative clinical nurse educator at Methodist Specialty and Transplant Hospital, San Antonio, Texas.

The responsibilities of the NLDC are to solicit and receive nominations for potential candidates for all elected positions, prepare and present a slate of candidates to serve for all elected positions, and establish effective processes for the development of members to serve in leadership roles at all levels of the Association.

About AORN

AORN represents the interests of more than 160,000 perioperative nurses by providing nursing education, standards, and practice resources—including the peer-reviewed, monthly publication AORN Journal—to enable optimal outcomes for patients undergoing operative and other invasive procedures. AORN's 40,000 registered nurse members manage, teach, and practice perioperative nursing, are enrolled in nursing education or are engaged in perioperative research. For more information, visit www.aorn.org.