Access Now: Transmission Precautions for Monkeypox Infection

The Award for Excellence in Perioperative Nursing

Honor a colleague by nominating them for The AORN Excellence in Perioperative Nursing Award, the highest honor bestowed by AORN recognizing an individual whose work and accomplishments has had global implications on perioperative nursing in the areas of practice, education, and research.

The Award for Excellence acknowledges the body work of a perioperative nurse and must clearly articulate all three areas: practice, education, and research.

Sponsors or nominees must include documentation of individual contribution(s) in each focus area of the award: practice, education, and research noting the nature of the contributions, significance, outcomes, and impact. These must be substantiated in the CV. Nominees should strive to highlight each area with concrete examples noting the impact on a largescale level (i.e., worldwide, national, etc.).

Consideration is also given to the applicant’s contributions to AORN and perioperative nursing outside of AORN. While contributions in a national leadership position (i.e., Officer, Board of Directors, and Committee Chair) are extremely important to the ongoing work of the Association, they are recognized as group contributions unless the applicant has expanded significantly and individually on the work of the group.

Self-nominations are accepted for the Award, but applicants are encouraged to seek supporting nominations from perioperative colleagues with knowledge of their expertise.

Nominees must have a degree in nursing at the Baccalaureate, Masters, or Doctoral level, must be an active member of AORN and a perioperative nurse for at least 5 years and must hold at least one perioperative certification, active or emeritus.

The submission should be concise and well written without grammatical errors. Each area of focus should stand alone without replication of the information except when it is pertinent.

Award for Excellence Selection Panel


  • Carol D. Applegeet, MSN, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC, FAORN, FAAN


  • Kay Ball, PhD, RN, CNOR, FAAN
  • Charlotte Guglielmi, MA, BSN, RN, CNOR, FAORN
  • Jane Rothrock, PhD, RN, CNOR, FAAN
  • Ruth Shumaker, BSN, RN, CNOR
  • Joan Spear, MBA, RN, CNOR
  • Victoria Steelman, PhD, RN, CNOR, FAORN, FAAN

Board Liaison:

  • Lisa Bailey, BSN, BS, RN, CNOR

Staff Liaison:

  • Crystal Fuentes

Nominations are now closed.

Candidate Worksheet