AORN Virtual Town Hall and Special Membership Meeting: February 23, 2016

Neurosurgery, Orthopedic & Trauma

Log in to your specialty assembly on ORNurseLink 


Perioperative nurses who specialize or who are interested in neurosurgery, orthopedics and/or trauma. Orthopedic surgery includes procedures involving the muscoloskeletal system including traumatic injuries, sports injuries, degenerative diseases, infectious diseases, tumors, and congenital disorders. Neurosurgery includes procedures involving pain management, the brain, spine, peripheral nerves whether traumatic, degenerative, infectious, congenital, or tumor related. Trauma includes invasive treatment of sudden physical injuries or shock caused by an impact via accident or violence.

Purpose Statements

•Provide focused education programs identified by assembly members or as identified by changes in practice on evidence based practice or technology changes. 

•Enhance communication, collaboration, networking, and a forum for learning among perioperative nurses who practice in neurosurgery, orthopedics, and trauma settings.

•Share knowledge for organizing resources, i.e.; personnel, equipment, and supplies for complex multispecialty procedures. 

•Identify collaborative models between OR and the emergency department and other members of the trauma team.

•Act as a resouce for application of AORN's Standards and Recommended Practices in the perioperative setting.

•Act as a resource for research in the perioperative setting. 

2015-2016 Coordinating Council

Chair - Ramie Miller, MSN-HCSM, RN, CNOR
Chair Elect - Vacant
Past Chair – Mike Mayer, MSN, RN, CNOR
Communications Chair – Yvette Whelahan, RN, CNOR, RNFA
Education Chair – Nikki Washington, MBA, BSN, RN, CNOR
Professional/Practice Issues Chair – Michael Malizioso, BSN, RN, CNOR
TRAUMA Specialty Chair – Hermes Alejandro Troche, RN 
NEURO Specialty Chair – Alexandra E. Trudeau, BSN, BS, RN, CNOR
NEURO Specialty Sub Chair – Julie J. Borneman, BSN, RN, CNOR
ORTHO Specialty Chair – Vacant
AORN Board Liaison – Jay Bowers, BSN, RN, CNOR, TNCC
Specialty Assembly Advisor – Darlene Murdock, BSN, BA, RN, CNOR
AORN Staff Consultant - Debbie Robichaud Stephen

As a member of this assembly, you can contact any member of the coordinating council via email using your AORN username and password through ORNurseLink.


AORN's specialty assemblies on ORNurseLink are a great member benefit. Access is free to all members who belong to a specialty. The web communities provide a convenient method for all members to share information, post documents, and participate in discussions. You can contact the members of the coordinating council through the community as well. To access your specialty community, you will need your AORN login and password.

AORN Customer Service can assist you in becoming a member of any specialty assembly today!

Contact us with questions about your specialty assembly.